

The URAR Useful Reading and Reporting

Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board Quarterly Update

Third Quarter 2014

Common Violations to Avoid

Recently, the Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board (REAB) censured and fined two licensees for violating standard rule 2-3 of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP), wherein the appraisers failed to disclose the names of the individuals who provided significant appraisal assistance and failed to disclose the specific task(s) performed in the appraisal report by those individuals. These licensees also failed to complete the required visual interior inspection of the subject property and inaccurately reported that they had completed the inspection. Additional information on this issue can be found under frequently asked questions (FAQ) No. 247 in the 2014-2015 USPAP. According to this FAQ, significant real property assistance includes inspection of the subject property and identification of comparable properties and data.

Other common violations reported to REAB include:

- Reporting inaccurate dates for comparable properties. An example of this is an assignment requiring comparable sales within the previous six-month period where an appraiser changed data from an older comparable sale to reflect a more recent date within the required time frame.
- Exceeding the \$250,000 limit for commercial or non-residential properties.
- Failure to include classification or designation in appraisal report. An example of this would be providing only your license number. You must clearly state your classification, such as Louisiana Certified Residential Appraiser, in the body of the report.

Important Continuing Education Notice

Appraisers wishing to use appraisal coursework to satisfy continuing education hours for their real estate license must submit hours in accordance with Chapter 9, Section 907 of the Louisiana Real Estate Commission Rules and Regulations. Hours must be submitted early to allow for approval prior to the December 31 deadline. The LREC suggests submitting these hours as soon as coursework is completed.

REAB Hires New Investigator

Henk vanDuyvendijk joins the REAB Investigations division as a compliance investigator.

vanDuyvendijk has over 13 years of experience as an appraiser in Louisiana and has served as a review appraiser for over four years. He has held his real estate license for over ten years and is a former member of the Louisiana Chapter of the Appraisal Institute.



"We are very excited to have Henk join our staff," said Chief

Investigator Robert Maynor. "He brings over a decade of appraisal knowledge that will benefit all of our licensed appraisers as well as the public we serve."

vanDuyvendijk has experience in various areas of the appraisal field, including residential, commercial, expropriation, succession, and subdivision. He can be contacted for any questions related to appraisals, Louisiana Real Estate Appraiser Law, Rules and Regulations of the Board, education, USPAP, and appraisal investigations.

2014-2015 USPAP Courses in Louisiana

Appraisers with licenses expiring December 31, 2014 must take the 2014-2015 USPAP update course prior to renewing. Please be advised that, effective January 1, 2015, appraisers may not receive credit for completion of the same continuing education offering within their license cycle.

The 2014-2015 USPAP course will be held in Louisiana on the following dates:

October 8, 2014 Baton Rouge Holiday Inn BR South 9940 Airline Highway

October 17, 2014 Lafayette Ramada Lafayette Conference Center 2032 NE Evangeline Thruway

To register, visit: http://www.reab.state.la.us/forms/USPAP.pdf