## Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board State of Louisiana

Office of the Governor

JEFF LANDRY Governor



TAYLOR F. BARRAS COMMISSIONER OF ADMINISTRATION

## LICENSED RESIDENTIAL APPRAISER LICENSE APPLICATION

## <u>Checklist</u>

This checklist will assist you in the process of obtaining an appraiser trainee registration. This checklist is for your use and does not need to be submitted to the Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board ("Board"). Additional information can be found at: <u>Appraiser Licensing Frequently Asked Questions</u>.

<u>Step 1</u>: The license applicant shall complete all qualifying education required by the AQB Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria, which can be found here: <u>The Real Property</u> <u>Appraiser Qualification Criteria</u>. <u>Current edition</u>: *See* page 20, Section III.

<u>Step 2</u>: Once the license applicant has completed the applicable qualifying education and has timely obtained the required one thousand (1,000) experience hours in no fewer than six (6) months, the applicant shall complete and submit the <u>Certified Appraiser Application (Application for Testing)</u> to the Board with the required \$245.00 fee. Once the Board processes the complete application form and has required the mandatory fees, the applicant shall receive instructions in his or her portal for scheduling the applicable examination.

<u>Step 3</u>: The license applicant shall also complete and submit the <u>Application for Appraiser</u> <u>Experience Review</u> to the Board, including the required \$100.00 fee and a copy of the completed and signed experience log. The experience log and its requirements can be found at: <u>Appraiser</u> <u>Trainee Experience Log</u>. The Board will select and request three (3) appraisal reports for a more detailed review.

<u>Step 4</u>: Appraiser licenses shall be renewed every two years. Please refer to your license expiration date to determine renewal date. *See* La. R.S. 37:3403.

\*<u>Important Note</u>: An applicant previously convicted of a felony shall contact the Board's Regulatory Compliance staff for additional details (<u>info@lreab.gov</u>).