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LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY & CORRECTIONS 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY SERVICES 

 

OFFICE OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
 

[9/8/22] 
 

GUIDANCE NOTICE 

 
ATTENTION: Real Estate, Housing, and Construction Industry Representatives: 

 
The top priority of the Louisiana State Fire Marshal’s Office (SFM) is to protect life 

and property from the hazards of fire and explosion. We understand you share that 
priority, especially regarding residential homes, and we are eager to partner in ensuring 
all fire and life safety requirements are in place for Louisiana families. 
 

Effective January 1, 2023, Act 458 of the 2022 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature (“Act”) changes the fire and life safety requirements of one or two-family 
residential homes, relating to the presence of carbon monoxide (CO) detectors. In 
addition, the Louisiana Uniform Construction Code Council amended the International 
Residential Building Code (“IRC”) with those changes also becoming effective on Jan. 1, 
2023. 
 

This Guidance Notice means to notify you of the Act 458 requirements and further 
provides fire and life safety industry best practice recommendations, relating to the 
presence of CO detectors in one or two-family dwellings. 

 

ACT 458 REQUIREMENT 

 
 Every one or two-family house/dwelling sold and/or leased after January 1, 2023 
shall have at least one operable, life-long, sealed battery carbon monoxide (CO) 
detector. 

▪ The detector packaging should feature phrases including “life-long” OR “ten-year” 
AND “sealed battery” OR “sealed-in lithium battery.” 

▪ The device can be in combination with a smoke detector. 

▪ One or two-family house/dwelling is defined as a building containing not more than 
two dwelling units in which one or each dwelling unit is occupied by members of a 
single family with not more than three outsiders, if any, accommodated in rented 
rooms. 

 
However, certain home elements affect applicable requirements necessitating more 

than one CO detector and/or specific placement for the CO detectors. See the chart 
below:  
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If a house… 1 CO Alarm, No Specific 
Location 

Multiple CO Alarms, 
Specific Locations 

Has no gas service 
available 

•  

Has gas service available 
but its inactive 

 
• 

 

Is an existing home, built 
before Jan. 1, 2023, 
without a generator 

 
 

• 

 

Is an existing home, built 
before Jan. 1, 2023, with a 
permanently-mounted, 
whole home standby 
generator (at time of 
installation) 

  
• 

 
▪ For homes that require additional detectors in specific locations, there should be one, 

operable, life-long, sealed battery carbon monoxide (CO) detector inside of each 
separate sleeping room and one in the living/common area.  

 

Accordingly, please see the information below regarding the SFM’s recommendations for 
CO detector best practices in homes subject to Act 458: 
 

CO DETECTOR RECOMMENDATIONS 
 
▪ When only one CO detector is required, its best location is near a sleeping area, 

preferably within 10 feet of a bedroom door. 

▪ Ideally, a CO detector should be located on every occupied level of your home, 
especially occupied levels with fuel-burning appliances. The CO detector should be 
placed within 10 feet of each bedroom door (inside or outside of the room), within 10 
feet of the door to an attached garage, and inside of any rooms located over an 
attached garage. CO detectors should NOT be placed inside of an attached garage. 

▪ CO detectors should NOT be placed directly above or beside fuel-fired, heating, or 
cooking appliances or in or near humid areas like bathrooms. A CO detector should be 
placed at a distance of at least 15 feet or farther from these appliances and fireplaces. 

▪ CO detectors should NOT be placed next to a window or exterior door. 

▪ Installation heights vary by manufacturer. Therefore, it is advised to read the provided 
installation manual for each detector before placement. 

▪ Choose placement locations that are free of obstructions where the detector will stay 
clean and protected from adverse environmental conditions. 
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▪ CO detectors should be tested monthly to ensure they are operational. 
 
 As this conversation surrounding carbon monoxide (CO) detection has become 
more prevalent, there has been additional attention to previously existing requirements 
in residential homes regarding the presence of smoke detectors.   Accordingly, please see 
the information below regarding the legal requirements and the SFM’s recommendations 
for smoke detectors in one and two-family dwellings across Louisiana: 
 

SMOKE DETECTOR REQUIREMENTS 

 Act 163 of the 2009 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature (R.S. 40:1581 (C) 
and (D)) revised the previous law regarding smoke detectors that had been effective since 
January 1992. Act 163, which became effective in January 2011, expanded the law to 
require smoke detectors in all one-and-two family dwellings at the time of sale or lease 
and requires: 

▪ At a minimum, one operable ten-year, sealed lithium battery smoke detector. 

 

SMOKE DETECTOR RECOMMENDATIONS 

▪ One smoke detector should be placed on every occupied level of a home, inside of 
every bedroom, and outside of sleeping areas, like a hallway, as well as in a common 
area like a living room. 

▪ Smoke detectors should be mounted five inches from the corners of a room or five 
inches from where the ceiling and side walls meet. 
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Please feel free to reach out to the SFM’s points of contact for clarification of these topics: 

▪ Chief Deputy Erin St. Pierre- erin.e.st.pierre@la.gov or 225-955-0508 

• Public Affairs Director Ashley Rodrigue- ashley.rodrigue@la.gov or 225-620-5115 
 
 Thank you all for your assistance in helping us help you keep our state’s families 
as safe as possible. 

 
Chief Dan Wallis 

Louisiana State Fire Marshal 
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