## MINUTES OF MEETING

## OF

#### LOUISIANA REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS BOARD

#### February 25, 2022

The Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board held a special business meeting, via Zoom teleconference, at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, February 25, 2022, to review and discuss proposed legislation, according to regular call, of which all members of the board were duly notified, at which meeting the following members were present:

# **BOARD**

Rebecca A. Rothschild, Chairwoman F. Troy Williams, Vice Chairman Robert L. Russell, Secretary Daniel A. Blanchard Michelle Foret H. Carter Leak, IV Terry L. Myers Bennett E. Oubre Kara A. Platt Margaret K. Young

# STAFF

Bruce Unangst, Executive Director Arlene Edwards, Legal Counsel Summer Mire, Deputy Director Anne Brassett, Program Administrator Allison Burnette, Program Administrator Logan Cockerham Debbie DeFrates Tom Devillier Mark Gremillion Telly Hollis Allison O'Toole Henk vanDuyvendijk Nikki Wallace Jenny Yu

# **GUESTS**

Cheryl Bella Kim Calloway Joe Gendron, Louisiana Bankers Association Nancy Linton-Hall, Louisiana Chapter of the Appraisal Institute Joe Mier

## Call to Order

Ms. Rothschild called the meeting to order. Mr. Williams called roll to ensure a quorum was present.

### **Approval of Minutes**

On motion made by Mr. Williams and seconded by Mr. Russell, the minutes of the February 7, 2022 meeting were unanimously approved, as written, by roll call vote.

#### Unfinished Business

Mr. Devillier has spoken with Claire Brooks, our AQB Program Policy Manager, who advised that she and other staff members have reviewed and approved the general verbiage of our legislative draft (*See Attachment A*).

Mr. Devillier outlined several proposed changes to the certification law, including removal of the three-year residency requirement for certified appraisers wishing to sponsor a trainee, adding the "Licensed Residential" real property appraiser classification, and recognizing Practical Applications of Real Estate Appraisal (PAREA) training programs as an alternative path to obtain a real estate appraiser license without the necessity of working directly under the supervision of a certified appraiser.

He opened the floor for questions/comments from board members and guests. Mr. Oubre would like to see the proposed language for Subsection 3392(14)(b) revised to reflect "market" value as opposed to "transaction" value. Mr. Blanchard and Mr. Leak concurred with Mr. Oubre's recommendation. Following additional discussion, Mr. Oubre made motion, seconded by Mr. Russell, to adopt "market" value. Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote.

Mr. Oubre further requested that Page 5., Line 19, be amended to note that broker price opinions/comparative market analyses shall not be defined/presented as market *values*. Several board members and guests questioned the need to amend the language at all; legal counsel voiced concern that doing so could open the door for complaints. Mr. Oubre made motion, seconded by Mr. Blanchard, to amend the language as proposed. A roll call vote followed:

Robert Russell – Abstained	Terry Myers – No
Troy Williams – No	Margaret Young - No
Rebecca Rothschild – No	Bennet Oubre - Yes
Danny Blanchard – Yes	Carter Leak - Yes
Michelle Foret – No	Kara Platt - No

Motion failed to carry by a vote of 6 - 3.

Mr. Mier addressed the board, suggesting that consideration be given to removing the "Trainee" license classification. Mr. vanDuyvendijk advised that this would cause problems where none currently exist. Brief discussion ensued; no action was taken.

Board members thanked Mr. Devillier for his diligent work in preparing this proposed legislation, which they feel was very well written. Mr. Williams made motion, seconded by Mr. Leak, to move forward with the legislation with the minor change to reflect "market" value. Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote.

## New Business - None

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned on motion made by Mr. Russell and seconded by Mr. Leak. Motion passed by unanimous roll call vote.

Rebecca Rothschild, Chairwoman

Robert Russell, Secretary